ASK LUCKY (and each other)

Have a travel related question? Post it here, and I’ll do my best to answer it as quickly as possible.

Anyone can post a question, but you'll get the most benefit from registering to join our forum. You'll be able to see when your question is answered, and like comments from other users.

This space is intended to be more of a community as well, so feel free to jump in and share tips!

Thanks for reading!

Best,
Ben

Hotels IHG status error?

Discussion in 'questions. answers. conversations.' started by Rohit Deshpande, Apr 21, 2019.

1. Rohit Deshpande

Hey guys, I’m completely new to IHG hotels and program as I’m a frequent Bonvoy-er. But I wanted to use IHG points for Crowne Plaza hotel Changi so I created an account.....like yesterday. And today I transferred 40,000 chase points to IHG for the booking. I didn’t even pay attention to status because I know I don’t have any. But I spend the 40k miles on a room and all of a sudden I notice I have platinum elite status?!?! Bear in mind I created the account yesterday and I don’t even have any ihg co branded credit card. I’ve also never stayed at an ihg hotel in my life. Can someone clarify if chase points can clearly be transferred for ihg status or if this is some kind of error but I’ll gladly take it in either case. Thanks in advance!

2. MidSouth Skier

MidSouth Skier Well-Known Member

Probably an error but IHG Platinum status isn't actually worth a whole lot so I wouldn't get too excited.

Gaurav likes this.
  3. Rohit Deshpande

Certainly, I looked at the perks and pretty shoddy to be honest. I get twice the value out of Marriott gold status than what I see from IHG’s platinum status which is pretty sad, but I mean I can’t complain about it. Perhaps something to experiment with for others. But I certainly won’t complain about getting status merely through transferring points to my account having only created this account day before.

4. David W

David W Well-Known Member